Working in our own time at work

Hi,

Just wanted to clarify a couple of things really.
I work in retail and I’m fully aware that working in your own time is expected, but is it legal? I’ve been told it’s in my contract.
I stop being paid at 8pm on the dot. If there is a customer still in the store, I have to serve them in my own time.
Once everyone has gone, I then have to bank the money and fill out form and do bag searches.
I’ll normally leave at around 8.15pm. Over 5 days, that’s an hour 15mins.

Can they really make me do this? I get I have to lock up etc, but do I have to fill in these forms and do bag searches etc in my own time?

Thank you

Comments

• Takeaway_Addict
    Takeaway_Addict Posts: 6,538 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    If it doesn't take you under NLW then its ok

If it does then its not.
    Don't trust a forum for advice. Get proper paid advice. Any advice given should always be checked
  • ohreally
    ohreally Posts: 7,525 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    lily-bea wrote: »
    Over 5 days, that’s an hour 15mins.

Are you saying this is each and every day and you're the only individual affected?
    Don’t be a can’t, be a can.
  • Tabbytabitha
    Tabbytabitha Posts: 4,684 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Are you the manager or supervisor?
  • TELLIT01
    TELLIT01 Posts: 16,452 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper PPI Party Pooper
    From the level of responsibility involved I assume you are a manager or supervisor. If it's happening every day and you aren't the manager I wouldn't be happy about it. If you are the manager it comes with the job. If the shop closes at 8pm there will obviously be checks to be made and other procedures to complete after customers have gone.
    As has been said, if it doesn't take you below minimum wage it is legal.
  • esuhl
    esuhl Posts: 9,409 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary