VAT for consultancy work?

Options
I am a consultant on the side of my normal job. I am set up as a limited company and work with another individual who has a limited company. For this particular job, the total consultancy fee would get paid by invoice in to my partners bank account, which i assume he would then have to pay VAT on. I then invoice him for my share - would I then pay VAT again?

Comments

• 00ec25
    00ec25 Posts: 9,123 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 12 November 2018 at 7:39PM
    Options
    so the job has been performed by his Ltd Co and you are working for his company as one of its subcontractors, otherwise what you say makes no contract/legal sense, since "you" cannot have a share of the income which is paid to his company, since it is not "you" doing the work for the customer.

is your company VAT registered? Presumably not, since I doubt "work on the side" takes your company over £85,000 turnover, and thus into compulsory registration. So no, your company cannot charge VAT to his company

equally it would be counter productive to voluntarily register your company for VAT, since it sounds like you are a personal service company with limited costs and so negligible VAT to be recovered anyway
  • jscott08
    Options
    00ec25 wrote: »
    so the job has been performed by his Ltd Co and you are working for his company as one of its subcontractors, otherwise what you say makes no contract/legal sense, since "you" cannot have a share of the income which is paid to his company, since it is not "you" doing the work for the customer.

is your company VAT registered? Presumably not, since I doubt "work on the side" takes your company over £85,000 turnover, and thus into compulsory registration. So no, your company cannot charge VAT to his company