Partners DMP

Options
Hi,

I have a couple of questions. I work in finance but it is mainly in protection so not something I have had to deal with at work.

My partner has a DMP that at this rate will be running for 57 years.

We are getting married next year (for legal reasons) and I am sure that I am right in thinking that unless we open a joint account we will not be linked financially with regard to credit reports, etc am I right?

In a few years we may be in a position to repay the DMP in full. If we do that do I really have to wait 6 years until it drops off his credit report before becoming financially linked? (working in finance)

Also at that time we may be in a position to also buy a property to let which we would like to put in joint names (or maybe just his dependent on circumstance at the time) would this cause issue with his newly paid off DMP?

That is all the questions I think I have! Thank you in advance.
Mtg Balance £147,000 : Savings £7,000 / £10,000

Getting married in October 2018 :beer:

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,953 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Hi,

Correct on the first point.

Defauted debts stay on file for 6 years, so depends on the default date.

After all his debts are gone from his file, it will be like the DMP did not happen.