Increased NHS contributions or private pension

Options
Hi. I am an NHS nurse who is just about to finish paying off my credit cards (thanks MSE). As I will have a little extra money each month very soon, I'm keen to look into improving my retirement income. I have 8 years NHS pensions contributions so far at 34 yrs old. Since I've been paying in, my pension contributions have gone up by 3% and pay out has been changed to career average rather than final salary. So, should I a) increase my pension contributions b) take out a private pension or c) something else? Thanks in advance for the advice!

Comments

• Ian_Faraday-White
    Options
    Thank you very much!
  • FIRSTTIMER
    FIRSTTIMER Posts: 637 Forumite
    Options
    This is a good article. I am similar age and just had a letter stating my TPS pension contributions were going to increase significantly. I was furious to be fair until a IFA looked at it and said it is still a good deal. I pay approx 18% (faster accrual + 3 year buy out) in order to bank £1k per year in pension to take at age 65.

This cost equates to £8k of salary before tax. Even though it sounds a lot, it is actually only costing me around 6.5k due to tax relief. Then that £1k is increasing in value and if it increased in value by only a menial 2% per year until age 65 it would have doubled in value. So paying 6.5k for 2k in 25-30 years seems ok when its put that way.
  • Pocket9s
    Pocket9s Posts: 47 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    LISA might be a good option to supplement your pension. Can be taken at 60 as well so 8+ years before SPA. Might allow you to reduce hours at 60 to prepare for retirement
  • crv1963
    crv1963 Posts: 1,372 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I also am NHS worker. I have had a similar conversation with younger colleagues. I suggest you do several things-