Credit file help

Options
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice regarding a catalogue debt I have that is being managed by Lowell. I got in to difficulty a couple of years ago and most of my debts defaulted so are on the 6 year countdown, but this one has not. I have been paying them a token amount every month for almost 2 years and am now looking to start repairing my credit file. My account is showing as AA early arrears with a number 1 and payment was up to one month late, this is the same for every month since it was transferred to Lowell. Is this how it should be reported? Or should it be showing as on an arrangement? Which is worse?

I am thinking of offering them a settlement amount but wondering what options are best for my credit file?

Thanks

Comments

• MovingForwards
    MovingForwards Posts: 16,924 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    You do not want AP (arrangement to pay) as that stays on your file for 6 years after you settle it!

You can do a CCA request, someone will come along with a link, and see if the debt is enforceable.

You can also offer them an amount to settle, less than what is outstanding, in full and final settlement.
    Mortgage started 2020, aiming to clear it in 2026.
  • Tidymind
    Tidymind Posts: 9 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    Do I send the CA request to Lowell or the catalogue company?

I emailed the catalogue company a few months ago to ask them to confirm if they had defaulted the account or not, they said up to it being passed to Lowell it had not been defaulted.

My credit file shows no sign of the original account with the catalogue company, either open or closed, but just the account now being held with Lowell. I have been on arrangement on the account since March 2016, it was sold to Lowell in Dec 2016 and Lowell have been reporting as 1 month late payment every month since June 2017.