Self Employed, Not Earning As Much As I Thought... E.g. no pension/holiday/sick contributions

Options
I've been trundling on very nicely making a decent living for nearly 5 years as a self employed person on the higher rate of tax, however it's really started to dawn on me how much one loses out on employer benefits, namely pension contributions and paid holiday/sick leave.

Has anyone done the maths and found they're better off employed, even if they take a £10k+ pay cut? I'm trying to work out what my pay really equates to in the conventional working world, if I was to go back to having a dreaded boss...! :eek:

Comments

• Takeaway_Addict
    Options
    Surely you're better to look at increasing your revenue and paying for those things yourself?
    Don't trust a forum for advice. Get proper paid advice. Any advice given should always be checked
  • MovingForwards
    MovingForwards Posts: 16,924 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    28 days holiday, incl bank holidays = save 28 days of your pay for your holiday entitlement to yourself.

Not all companies have sick pay above statutory sick pay. SSP is currently £92.05 per week for upto 28 weeks, first 3 days are not covered. = Take out an insurance policy to cover yourself, although I would hope you already do.

Minimum pension is 8% between employee and employer, depending on the company it's about 3x annual salary death in service benefit. = Have you not already got a pension to reduce your tax liability?

If you want to compare like with like then it's down to what line of work you will do working for someone else, how high up the ranks you think you will enter. Only then can other perks be looked at eg health benefit (Bupa etc), company car / allowance both attract tax and deductions from wages for the perks.