Accountancy Training

Options
Hi everyone,

I am looking for advice on the route to becoming an accountant.

Bit of background, I am in my late 20's and currently work as a qualified mortgage advisor for a high street lender. I've been doing this since 2014 and I am bored.

I've been doing some research and there are a lot of different bodies within accountancy which has thrown me with regards to which route I should take. There seem to be more jobs working payroll as opposed to being a tax advisor, which was my initial thought.

Questions are,

What sort of cost am I looking at to get qualified to a level I can be taken on?

Are there better qualifications to hold in what seems a saturated market?

I've been looking at 'payroll' jobs which seems to be outsourced from main employers but they often specify 'qualified to acceptable standard'.

Can you point me in the right direction to get started?

Thank you

Comments

• kleapatra
    kleapatra Posts: 213 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Payroll isn’t done by accountants usually, when payroll jobs ask for qualified they mean a payroll qualification which is a lot more basic than an accountancy qualification and can be completed in a very short time. A proper accountancy qualification will usually take several years. There are pretty much only 3 qualifications to be an accountant, ACA (can only be done working for an accountancy practise and as part of a training contract), ACCA and CIMA. All 3 are very costly, very time consuming and very difficult!

Oh and it sounds like you might get bored easily- accountancy is not the career for you!!
  • Super_Whiskey
    Options
    ACA doesn't necessarily have to be done with an accountancy practice although it's very common. It can be done with approved training providers.