How will I be taxed as a freelancer in a full time job?

A tax novice here so forgive me...

I currently work for a company full time and receive a salary from them. I haven't asked if it's possible yet but they used to employ me as a freelancer before offering me a permanent contract, and I've been considering asking if I could taken on freelance work on weekends when I have little else to do to earn some more pocket money.

I have a separate bank account dedicated solely for earnings I make as a freelancer, so when it comes to determining what tax I need to pay, I can be sure exactly how much of that money has been from freelancing. But how would it work when I already receive a wage from the same company? Presuming I'm paid in the same way I used to be, the freelance work will result in me sending an invoice and they'll pay me directly into my bank account. But as I'm already taxed on my salary, how would the money I make as a freelancer be taxed? Is this something I'd have to declare myself? Or is it something the tax man would even be aware of unless I told them about it?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• MoneyMoney
    MoneyMoney Posts: 42 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    I would be very surprised if they took you up on this, I have done quite a bit of freelance / Ft with the same companies but they either were one or the other at the time. This would be overtime. When I have had a FT job and done some freelancing for other firms on the side I just declare it on my self assessment and it was taxed at the higher rate as the FT job eats up the lower rates. Not a tax person at all just my experience...
  • jimmymoon
    jimmymoon Posts: 16 Forumite
    So you're saying if I leave my wage to be taxed the usual way, I should just do a self-assessment on my freelance earnings every year and it'd all be alright?