Egg PPI refunds

Options
Hi guys

In around 2003 I had an egg card and I'm sure it had PPI .. since then it was passed to Barclays and I cleared it a few years ago.
Does anyone know if I can claim PPI .. I've never done anything like this before

We did have PPI which was pushed at us when we took our mortgage out but it was in ex hubbys name (can't remember if it was joint) I do have the paperwork at my mums so could check but we have since split so guessing that a no go.

Sorry if in the wrong place guys .. just I'm debt busting crazy at the minute lol
Thanks a million in advance for any advice
Lisa x
DFW
January £0/£11,100

NSD
January 1/31

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,953 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Hi,

Usually the further back in time you had the PPI, the less chance there is of getting a refund.

Do not be fooled by these claims management companies telling you they can go back 30 years, its rubbish, any longer than 6 years ago, all a company need say is that your claim is statute barred under the Limitations act 1980.

If you have paperwork, it will help your case, if you do not, then its a gamble, and relies entirely on how far back the creditor keeps records.

Having said all that, for the cost of a stamp its always worthwhile trying, especially as the deadline to do so is looming.

Martin covers the process here :

https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/reclaim/ppi-loan-insurance