Contracting out implications

Options
Hello All

I've started to work out what's going on with "pensions" and I'm a novice so need advice.
I've checked up on the state of my state pension.. 10 years worth of contributions to go but 15 years of working life left to attain the 35 years worth presently needed.

But then I read about opting out on the main site...I'm pretty sure I opted out for about 8 years between 2000 and 2008..when I signed up for a housing association pension and the company advisor said sign this bit as well...

The main Martin site seemed to indicate that if I went to the GOV site, it would say what/how many years I was "COPE"..contracted out pension equivalent...but the GOV site didn't give me any info on the issue....it just gave me the years that I've contributed enough (24)..the years I didn;t back in the day(!!!!less youth years) and the years I might pay in to top up..(!!!!less adult years)...4 recent years.

I'd like to end up with the full quota...

Am I looking in the wrong place..re COPE.. and the potential short in state pension?..could someone steer me down the right path please.
..or is it "complicated".as people like to say.

Thanks in advance

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,379 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'm pretty sure I opted out for about 8 years between 2000 and 2008

opt out means you opted out of joining a workplace pension. Contracting out is what you mean.
    but the GOV site didn't give me any info on the issue.

The paper version gives you the COPE figure. However, you dont need that figure. What you qualify for is important . is yours saying £164.35 is the forecast or is it lower?