Mortgage with returned DD on bank statements

I’ve got a mortgage in principal and put in an offer for a property, which I’m fairly sure will be accepted, however I’m worried about being accepted for a mortgage as I’ve stupidly had my last 3 months Vodafone direct debits returned. I paid them all before each month was up so they won’t appear as late on my credit report (I have a good credit rating) but I just kept not having quite enough money in that account on the day the direct debit was taken out and then paying it a week or so later. If I’d known I’d be applying for a mortgage I wouldn’t have let that happen but here we are! 😬 Is this likely to be an immediate red flag for lenders? Do most request bank statements or will they not even see it?

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,442 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Which Lender?
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Your credit score is a myth! I would better sort out why you are paying you bank money to have your DD stopped. If you cannot budget this, you could lead to problems later when you do have a mortgage,
  • AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    How will you afford a mortgage if you struggle to make your mobile phone payments?
  • Brock_and_Roll
    Brock_and_Roll Posts: 1,207 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    May not be a red flag as such but to keep with the motor racing analogy, it may well be a "yellow flag" i.e. a warning/negative item.

Having several DDs bounced shows the lender:

1) the borrower is financially stressed

AND/OR

2) The borrower is poor at managing their finances