Here goes nothing

Options
I've decided to take the plunge and admit that I have a problem with gambling. I've borrowed from various credit cards and loans. I've done so well for a year and royally ruined it this last week. I am a professional, a wife and a mother and this is all secret, debt included and if anyone ever found out I would be so ashamed.

I've never admitted this to anyone not even myself. Today is the day I am going to change. My trigger is boredom, chasing wins and my worst trigger is feeling like I have no money and 'maybe this time' will help that. I actually won enough to pay off a loan this week but gambled it straight away so this proves that even if I do win I will ruin it. I have some mental health issues and feel that some of this behavior is self destruction, not allowing myself to be happy.

I've read a book and it's time to start. I'm not going to stress about giving my whole spare money to pay back debt as I feel this will trigger me as I will be miserable.

So as of October

5500 loan. 125 a month min.
1000 cc. 25 a month min. (interest free)
8987 loan. 178 a month min.
I also have catalogues 300.

My aim is to pay 150 extra than the minimum payments.

Wish me luck. Support gratefully received. No judgement please

Comments

• beanielou
    beanielou Posts: 90,523 Ambassador
    Academoney Grad I'm a Volunteer Ambassador Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper
    Options
    Happy shiny new diary :)
    Keep posting!
    I am a Forum Ambassador and I support the Forum Team on Mortgage Free Wannabe & Local Money Saving Scotland & Disability Money Matters. If you need any help on those boards, do let me know.Please note that Ambassadors are not moderators. Any post you spot in breach of the Forum Rules should be reported via the report button , or by emailing forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. All views are my own & not the official line of Money Saving Expert.