Leaving before notice period finish

Options
Good afternoon,

I have been working in NHS for last 4 months, and I am still on my probation period which is 6 months (no performance reviews been for the time being). Meantime I found another job so I handed notice to my line manager. I have to addmitt I haven't signed contract, as it has neen sent via email about 2 weeks after I've started my employment. Standard NHS contract states that on the probation the notice period is 1 week, however my contract doesn't mention that.

This is what my contract say:

You are required to give three calendar months notice of termination of your contract of employment
in writing to your line manager.
Except for cases of gross misconduct where you can be summarily dismissed in accordance with the
Trust’s Disciplinary Policy and Procedure. You are entitled to receive a minimum of one month, or the
amount detailed in the table below (whichever is greater), notice of termination of your contract of
employment:"

This is the email I have recieved from HR:

I have checked his contract which states he has a three month notice period. It appears to have been sent to him on his personal email address on 5 March 2019. In terms of him not signing his contract, I am not aware if he raised issues about his notice period when he was given this and that by starting to work here in effect means that he has accepting the terms and conditions of the contract even if it isn’t signed. I have pasted a link below from the ACAS website which relates to this.

I gave them 6 weeks of notice.
What can I do in this case as I need to start a new position on 1st of July, and they keep saying I need to fulfil the 3 months of notice period.
What could be the consequence if I decide to leave by the end of June if three months of notice finishes 16th of August.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• TELLIT01
    TELLIT01 Posts: 16,489 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper PPI Party Pooper
    Options