Round 2 of Trying to Get Debt Free

Options
So this is the first time I've tried a Debt Free Diary, although I've been using MSE for many, many years.

My first big fight with debt came as a result of accumulated credit cards & consolidation loans, sparked off while I was at University, but was a shadow my husband & I lived under for most of our 20s. Eventually we were up to six cards, a loan and three overdrafts between us. I cracked and told my parents about it when the endless round of late payment charges and using the credit I'd scraped from the last month's payments to do the grocery shopping got too much, and my father was able to lend me some capital to make partial settlements on some of them. We got the loan paid off, set up self-managed payment plans with the remaining debts, and started paying as much as we could towards settling things with Dad.

That went on for several years, with Dad occasionally lending me another chunk to get another card settled, and eventually we'd got down from over £25-30k and seriously considering bankruptcy to about £10k owed only to Dad.

And then we moved, and I made the mistake of using a new credit card to get some stuff for the new house, and it snowballed from there... :(

That was about 5 years ago, and although I'm nowhere near the stress and strain of the previous situation (I've got balances totalling about £5.5k held on 3 cards, all of which are currently on 0% deals for at least the next year, and I use a cashback card to do the grocery shopping, but pay it off every month so I'm not paying any interest on it) I don't like the fact that I've got myself back here. Dad will be paid off in less than two years now, and by that point I really wanted to have cleared everything else as well, although it's not looking likely.