Where to relocate? Bishopton/erskine

Options
Hi all,

New to this forum thing so go easy on me lol. I'm relocating to Scotland after working there for last 5 years with my wife and 9 month baby girl. We are selling our house and looking to buy a new build or house that is approx 5 years old. To be totally honest I'm no expert on areas so I'm looking for some honest advice. Currently the areas of bishopton and erskine have caught our eye. As most people, we are trying to fulfill and tick some of the criteria such as good schools, quiet area, village like or community feel and spirit, low crime rate etc, close to some kind of supermarket. I work on west coast near Helensburgh so the current areas are no to far away. One concern I do have is some
Of the reports I've read about contaminated land due to ROF bishopton. Now upon visiting the developments none of them have mentioned this and to be honest If i was a development sales person, I wouldn't unless questioned. I know BAE have invested a lot of money in a clean up operation and also would never have not got planning permission if there was any risk. Any feedback, comments or suggestions are greatly welcomed.

Thanks all :j

Comments

• Snozzle
    Snozzle Posts: 99 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi - just a quick thought - if you are working near Helensburgh would you not be better considering somewhere north of the river e.g. Cardross if you are wanting a village with a village community, school and life or Helensburgh or even Dumbarton if you are wanting a bigger town with bigger shops close by.
  • colino
    colino Posts: 5,059 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options