I've mucked up. Really badly.

Options

Comments

• ohbumstoitall
    Options
    Mostly_Zen wrote: »
    Hi OhBumsToItAll,

I read what has been going on in your life and registered an account so I could reply. The reason I registered was, you talked about having "episodes" where you spend an awful lot of money in your first post. I work as a psychologist, and was wondering what else happens during these episodes?

Do you have times when your mood is really high (feeling really great and overconfident?) do you barely need to sleep at these times? Are these the same times when you spend excessively? If so, there is a possibility you might be experiencing some form of bipolar difficulty. Its really worth going to your GP and getting referred for an assessment if you think this sounds like the problems you are having.

These kinds of things can be scary to face up to, but if you are able to, you might be able to get some help to address the root cause of the problem as well as either some psychotherapy, or medicine, or a combination of the two. Of course, you may not be bipolar at all - I have never met you and diagnosing over the internet is not wise - although it does sound like it could be.

In any case, I would follow the advise of the others also:

1) Cut up all the credit cards and bin the pieces
    2) Delete any apps you can spend with, and remove CC information from your browser and phone
    3) See how many of the things you have bought recently you can return? Some things can be returned within 21 days - you could potentially get £100s back this way. My wife returns things like clothes she has bought online fairly often.
    4) Only once you have checked all the things you can return should you consider selling things
    5) Get a cheaper dog walker
    6) Make sure you make the minimum payments
    7) Hurl as much cash as you can at the highest interest card first
    8) As each card is paid - CLOSE THE CREDIT CARD DOWN