NRAM/Northern Rock Debt?

Options
I took out an unsecured loan for £1000 along with my mortgage in 2005 with Northern Rock. I recieved a letter from NRAM Debt Recovery department on Thursday (out of the blue) stating that i have defaulted on this loan and because i have not responded to previous letter?, it has been passed to the Debt Recovery Dept!!

However i have been paying this loan for 7 years now and according to my last statement I still am! I explained this to NRAM over the phone and even the man i was talking to on the phone said it was probably i mistake. My problem is that i have been waiting 3 days now for an answer from them with no success,i have rang them numerous times only to be fobbed off.

I have always kept up to date with my payments and have not defaulted.
I am going on holiday this week but i am stressed about this debt and feel helpless, can anyone give any advice please?

Comments

• Wywth
    Wywth Posts: 5,079 Forumite
    Options
    mikep72 wrote: »
    I took out an unsecured loan for £1000 along with my mortgage in 2005 with Northern Rock. I recieved a letter from NRAM Debt Recovery department on Thursday (out of the blue) stating that i have defaulted on this loan and because i have not responded to previous letter?, it has been passed to the Debt Recovery Dept!!

However i have been paying this loan for 7 years now and according to my last statement I still am! I explained this to NRAM over the phone and even the man i was talking to on the phone said it was probably i mistake. My problem is that i have been waiting 3 days now for an answer from them with no success,i have rang them numerous times only to be fobbed off.

I have always kept up to date with my payments and have not defaulted.
    I am going on holiday this week but i am stressed about this debt and feel helpless, can anyone give any advice please?

I would suggest you put your complaint in writing to the company at the following address:

Customer Relations