Almo's MFW effort

Options
:wave: Hello all!

After months of reading all your diaries, I'm embarking on one all of my own. We're settling on our property on Friday and then the MFW journey can begin.

As background, I am a 25 y/o ESL teacher, and my boyfriend is a 25 y/o Recruitment Consultant. We emigrated to Australia a year ago and have been renting a lovely but tiny one bed apartment in Melbourne, right in the heart of the city. We love city living but wanted to get on the property ladder and the banks here have very strict lending criteria on city apartments and we couldn't even come close to getting an apartment of the size we would want at the moment. One of the goals of this challenge (a long term goal) is to be able to move back into the city.

So, after months of tentative enquiries, followed by visiting numerous suburbs, we stumbled on a lovely 3 bed detached house and after a few weeks of negotiation, our offer was accepted. It's been three months since the offer was accepted and settlement was originally scheduled for next week but we've managed to bring it forward.

Our mortgage is $1790 per month (at an eye-watering 8.92% - standard interest rate in Oz at the moment!) but we should easily be able to overpay this. Our income varies as I'm currently a sessional teacher, but averages out at about $6200. We have a 3 week trip to the UK coming up in November, and some work needs to be done to the house, so those expenses need to be met, but long term we'd like to be overpaying by about $1200 a month. This would allow us to have some instant access savings as well which is crucial for me and my peace of mind - being thousands of miles away from friends and family, if anything terrible should happen back home I want to be able to drop everything and get a ticket rather than wait for the overpayments to be released to us.

I seem to have rambled on an awful lot, sorry! I'm just very excited :o

Comments

• Almo
    Almo Posts: 631 Forumite
    Options