Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Essential Money > Debt-Free Wannabe > Is it possible to remove a 'default' from my cred... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Is it possible to remove a 'default' from my credit report?
Closed Thread
Views: 56,375
# 1
hutchbeast
Old 15-01-2008, 9:16 PM
MoneySaving Convert

Default Is it possible to remove a 'default' from my credit report?

Hi, just got turned down for a loan and wondered why so I got an experian credit report...turns out an unpaid overdraft when I was a student has led to me getting a default...to be honest I'd forgotten all about. It was because I'd not paid an owed fee of around 200. is there any way HSBC will remove this? Can I remove it any other way? On my report I have a red circle with the number '8' inside it..which I'm sure is one of the worst possible? Does this alone get me -8 points on my rating? Not sure how it all works. Please help
# 2
hutchbeast
Old 16-01-2008, 9:26 AM
MoneySaving Convert

Can anyone help pls?
# 3
debrag
Old 16-01-2008, 9:41 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan

it will stay on your file for 6 years. What date was it on?
Debts: c2 = 155; c3 = 408 ; c4 = 666 TOTAL = 1322 | I'm collecting DFs = drop off - 6 in 2015; 1 in 2016; 1 in 2017; 2 in 2018; 2 in 2019. Total = 12! | DRO to drop off 2015 | Credit Card = Capital One Secure | House deposit = 30k by Dec '21 - 5k/30k | Initial move = ? 5k/?
# 4
CLAPTON
Old 16-01-2008, 9:50 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee

There are two ways you can get it removed
a. because its invalid...in this case that doesn't seem likely