Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • MC0412
    • By MC0412 5th Jan 18, 3:08 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    MC0412
    Tax advice needed.
    • 5th Jan 18, 3:08 PM
    Tax advice needed. 5th Jan 18 at 3:08 PM
    Hello All

I've been working at a pub for the past 5 years since i was at college and until recently I've had no really course for concern. However, i started a full time job approximately two years ago but kept the pub on the side as a bit of extra income. I've now received a tax bill of £500 for my earnings from the pub over 16/17, is this right? or should the pub have been making the deductions from the pay for me? I've never received a pay slip from them nor a end of year P60? I'm a tad confused about the whole situation if im honest so any advice would be really helpful!

Thankyou
Page 1
    • ACG
    • By ACG 5th Jan 18, 3:16 PM
    • 16,128 Posts
    • 8,308 Thanks
    ACG
    • 5th Jan 18, 3:16 PM
    • 5th Jan 18, 3:16 PM
    Im going to struggle to explain what I think the problem is in writing but I will give it a try...

You get a tax free allowance of around £11k every year. I am guessing your income at the pub was less than £11k.

So when you started the new job, you paid tax based on that income alone, the tax man has eventually realised you have had 2 jobs and effectively not paid tax on the first £11k of the new job (which is fine) and also not paid tax on the first £11k of the old job (or however much you did earn at the old job).