What are my chances? Santander appeal

Hi all

Recently applied for a Santander mortgage. 69% LTV, DIP accepted and sent to full application.

Went to underwriters but it has been declined due to affordability.

I believe this is because my credit report still shows that I owe debt (loan, credit card etc) despite me paying it all off, completely clear, a few days before the mortgage application.

The Experian file won't update until early January.

Mortgage broker asked me to send him statements showing my clear balances and he'll appeal with Santander.

What are my chances, do you reckon? Anyone had appeal success? And how long does it usually take?

Cheers in advance.

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,442 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Follow your brokers advice. Santander are an unpredictable Lender but you may get a result here.
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Asked rhetorically. How did you manage to clear all of your debts just before submitting a mortgage application? Certainly something an underwriter may well question in their minds.
  • Clacecel
    Clacecel Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 8 February 2018 at 12:04PM