Payment for mandatory training

I'm a swimming teacher working for a large leisure centre company. It was recently decided that all teachers had to have a life saving qualification so I got sent on a course.

Other swimming teachers that work for the same company but at different sites have been paid for the time that they were on the course however my hours have just been rejected. Can they do this? My boss is stating that as they paid for the course they don't have to pay me to attend it but it was compulsory and I believed that all training hours should be paid (at least minimum wage).

Am I right or do they not have to pay me? Should I talk to my boss about it or try someone at head office?

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,014 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Are you employed by them, or self-employed? That might make a difference ...

If your boss has said 'no' but you believe others have been treated differently you could talk to someone at head office, but you won't necessarily get a different answer, and you might cause resentment in your boss ...
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • Bouncb
    Bouncb Posts: 3 Newbie
    I'm technically employed on a zero hours contact by them but no swimming teacher at my site has ever been given an actual contract to sign.
    The issue that I have is that we were told we had to have this qualification in order to continue teaching there and that we had to go on that specific course. I've found a lot of information about what employers have to legally pay for in the USA but haven't found anything comparable for the UK.
  • getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    It's work time they should pay.

Did they get you to sign any payback if you stop working.

Go over the local management.

Zero hours....
    one option group action.