C.I.M.A or ACCA

Options
Hey, was wondering if anybody on here could help me.

I graduated with a degree in Business Management in 2010, I work for the civil service on an accounts team, its not accountancy as its customs based but we deal with processing payments.

I want to become a Management Accountant and was initially thinking of doing the CIMA qualification, first the Certificate in Business Accounting then the Professional Qualification.
Does anybody have experience of doing this?
Does anyone know what jobs can I apply for whilst studying the Certificate? Or straight after?

I do not want to start a qualification for this and not be able to apply for jobs to get the experience.

I know I need 3 years experience in order to get Chartered Status on the professional qualification as well. How difficult is this? Is it very difficult to get a trainee position for Management Accountancy?

I have read that doing an AAT/ACCA qualification can be more beneficial to getting to become a Management Accountant? Does anybody have any information regarding this?

Many thanks in advance for your help

David

Comments

• xapprenticex
    xapprenticex Posts: 1,760 Forumite
    Options
    best advice i can give is to get the job THEN do the qualification. Too many people out there with qualifications, no real experience and wonder why its so difficult to get a job.

Management accounting best accessed through graduate schemes if you can get on one, lot of competition, no way are you just doing a qualifications then getting a job like that.
  • boliston
    boliston Posts: 3,012 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    One of my workmates has just done AAT and is now looking at CIMA rather than ACCA as he specifically wants to do management accounting. I think ACCA is good if you want to work for an accountancy firm rather than for a business.
  • Timpu
    Timpu Posts: 310 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post