Pension or pay debts?

Options
lowely
lowely Posts: 34 Forumite
edited 5 May 2015 at 4:42PM in Debt-free wannabe
Hi All,

Not wanting to be a clich! but long time lurker and rarely posting....

I was really hoping some of the experienced DFWs could help (or anyone to be honest). I am married and have x2 children and have managed to rack up £33,000 unsecured debts (£25,000 loan @ 7.2% and the rest on an interest free balance transfer credit card). The total monthly repayments come to a horrific £733 which is scary. However, my pension contribution is currently £510/month. I was wondering if the sensible thing to do would be to take a pension contribution "holiday" until the loan and credit card are repayed? I am a teacher and the pension is pretty good and the contributions from the School are very good. I'm nervous about doing this but, honestly, I'm not too sure how to pay this amount off without doing it. Any help or suggestions would be hugely appreciated. Ideally, I would like to pay this all off and start saving for a deposit for a house within 5 year (I am currently 35).

Thanks!

L

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply!

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

I would be very reluctant to cancel your pension contributions in your position. Even more so if your work would stop contributing if you also do.

But I can see that is a lot of debt. As a starting point have you worked out how much you can afford towards your debts a month (if you carry on with the pension)? And if so have you worked out how long it will take you to pay your current debts off?
    A smile enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give
    or "It costs nowt to be nice"
  • lowely
    Options
    Thanks for the quick reply.