Dmp and pregnancy

Options
Glitterkitty1
Glitterkitty1 Posts: 2 Newbie
edited 15 July 2014 at 3:45PM in Debt-free wannabe
Hi everyone I am a newbie here so I'm sorry if I have posted this in the wrong section!

Me and my partner are currently on a dmp with stepchange, we started last October and apart from one creditor being a nightmare it's all going smoothly :o

I was just wondering what would happen if I got pregnant? We currently have a 3 year old daughter and would love to have another but at the moment the only way we could do it, would be to reduce the monthly payment to stepchange. Is this possible? Will it make my creditors have hissy fits because the amount they agreed to has changed? I don't want it have another baby if it's going to cause too much stress and worry with nasty phone calls and threatening letters, but at the same time I hate not being able to complete my family due to being rubbish with money in the past.

Any help, info or advice would be great. Thank you! :)

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply!

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• newjam
    newjam Posts: 21 Forumite
    Options
    Hi,

I new too!!!

I would say if you think you could still handle your debts and its not going to make a huge difference to go for it.

I was dealing with stepchange for a while and i was in the understanding that you had to have a minimum of £5 per month going to each debt to keep your DMP going. Maybe speak to Stepchange about this too and ask if this is something your able to do.
  • Glitterkitty1
    Options
    Hi

Thank you for your reply. We are both working, so it would just be reducing the amount during maternity leave.

Hmm maybe I'll speak to stepchange and see what they suggest, thanks xx
  • bargainbetty
    bargainbetty Posts: 3,455 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options