John Lewis Sewing Machine £69, reduced from £99

Options
Hippo_hips
Hippo_hips Posts: 28 Forumite
I've been Money Tipped!
Official MoneySavingExpert insert: John Lewis has launched a new range of colours for their JL110 sewing machines, so the old blue model is now £69, was £99. Delivery's free and is available in-store and online while stocks last. Thanks to Hippo hips for posting.

http://www.johnlewis.com/john-lewis-jl110-colour-block-sewing-machine/p352048?colour=Blue

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• chaddythebear
    Options
    Wanting one for sewing on badges to cub/scout uniforms, i'm a complete beginner, would this be suitable?
  • Hippo_hips
    Hippo_hips Posts: 28 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    According to the reviews, it would be suitable for a beginner. (There are more reviews for the white version - I assume the only difference is the colour and that the machine itself will be the same.)

I'm not sure if I would bother for badges. I tend to do them by hand - I'm not a domestic goddess, I just couldn't be bothered to set up a sewing machine for a single badge.
  • Alidolly
    Alidolly Posts: 791 Forumite
    Options
    It won't do thick material so might not manage if the badges are padded or heavy duty. Good price though if want a very simple machine without all the bells and whistles
  • martinthebandit
    Options
    Wanting one for sewing on badges to cub/scout uniforms, i'm a complete beginner, would this be suitable?

Personally I would make sure the first badge the cub/scouts earned was for sewing, job done
  • cte1111
    cte1111 Posts: 7,390 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I've got one of these. I've made quite a few pairs of curtains with it, so it is OK. However I did find it difficult to thread, it wouldn't pick up the bobbin thread easily. It was no good for quilting, so I've bought a more expensive Janome one for this.
  • chaddythebear
    Options