Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Essential Money > Debt-Free Wannabe > Scotland Council Tax & Waste/Water (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Scotland Council Tax & Waste/Water
Views: 335
# 1
Ross2452
Old 05-12-2012, 4:01 PM
MoneySaving Convert

Default Scotland Council Tax & Waste/Water

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, couldn't find a better place.

Hi all,

I have been trying to sort out the mess that is my Council tax arrears.

I share a flat with a full time student. I used to be on JSA(IB), then working for a bit, then self employed and now I'm a full time student.

My flatmate has been a FT student since we moved in 4 years ago, he has never been included on any council tax bills. They are fully aware he is my joint tenant and has student exemption.

If everybody is liable for waste/water charges then does this mean he should be liable for 50% of the charges?

If I was on JSA(IB) then why am I liable for waste/water and a FT student is not?

I have been a FT student since Aug 2011. So who now pays the waste/water bills? It seems very unfair and unlikely that as he was a student first he is exempt from waste/water rates and I'm not?

I've had over 50 council tax bills sent to me over the past 4 years, each with different (incorrect) figures. It got so overwhelming that I gave up about 2 years ago and buried my head in the sand. The debt was passed to Scott & Co (sheriff officers) and I agreed to pay 40/month.