Are we entitled to anything ? dead ends?

Options
Hi all,
Im after a bit of advice.
we are a couple with 2 kids.
I was made redundant 15 months ago
my partner is a nurse off on maternity leave.( paid not full pay)

I dont get any benefits as my partner is in full time employment

my partner gets no benefits other then £21 a month child tax credit (this is one problem) we also get the child benefit which everybody does as this is not yet means tested.

Iv done the calculators and they give me the impression we are being short changed by the government ?

I have no experience claiming benefits as we have always worked until the last year or so.

our household income was around £26,000 (before tax) between april 2011 april 2012

we own our own house, and a car which is about to die a death tho its had a good innings ...

going by websites and a phone call to tax credit helpline we cant get any working tax credits as a couple we earned over £19,000 ?
(is this correct) as i found 26,32 and 41.5 on websites?

and child tax credit website says £1900 the paid us last month £21?

We will endêver to call them and clock up a nice phone bill in the process, they take forever to pick up the phone and seem very keen to put it back down,

So in a nutshell
A couple with 2 kids
own house
1 working but on mat leave
1 not working (not eligible for any benefits ) when i asked in april
we don't have stocks and bonds or a million pounds in the bank.

Are we not entitled to anything as the people on the phones dont seem to think so,

I was hoping somebody who has maybe had experience with such matters could shed some light on it..

I hope to find a job asap but any help after been out of work for a year now is much needed or it will be the house on the market next...

Ill probably be entitled to all sorts once were broke and homeless but i hope not to get there...

Any help and advice would be great cheers

Comments

• pmlindyloo
    pmlindyloo Posts: 13,049 Forumite