mysterious CCJ on file, declined mortgage, sad :(

Options
Hi people,

I have been saving for two years and and have put a accepted offer on a house which is well within my means, less than 3* my salary inc all outgoings and a good deposit if 20%.

I have tried so hard to manage my finances and everything. Before I applied for a mortgage I checked my Experian report and it was excellent.

However I was declined, I checked my Equifax report and there is a CCJ on 19/01/2011, this is strange as the address is showing my old house, I moved in 01/2010 to the property I am in now. I remember when I moved I phoned up all utility and council places to ensure nothing was left.

What should I do? Can this be disputed? If I accidentally failed to tell a company I moved house will I be liable and have to have this CCJ?

Anyhelp would be great!

Comments

• opinions4u
    opinions4u Posts: 19,411 Forumite
    Options
    If I accidentally failed to tell a company I moved house will I be liable and have to have this CCJ?
    Yes.

Find out what it is and take it from there.

If you did owe money, get the CCJ satisfied. It will still show on your credit file, but "satisfied" looks marginally better than not.
  • funkyorange
    Options
    That really sucks! I am going to ring up the courts tomorrow.

Out of interest will I be able to find mortgages with a CCJ?

Or is it possible to contact the prospective lender for my mortgage with a explanation and about this CCJ and pay it in full, or is there no point in wasting my time?!
  • GMS
    GMS Posts: 5,388 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    How much was the CCJ for?

Pay the debt anyway, it will help you going forward. Contact the court for details of the judgement.
    I am a Mortgage Adviser