New Start - hope to clear debts

117 Posts: 6 Forumite
edited 5 July 2011 at 7:10PM in Debt-free wannabe
Hi Guys,

I have been burying my head in the sand for too long regarding my debts, and I feel it is time that I finally start making steps to a less stressful life by remedying my financial issues.

Basically, as a student I managed to run up a large amount of debt on credit cards, and around 8 months ago after losing my job I found it very difficult to make payments on my cards, at the time lloyds also decided to withdraw my overdraft, and I have been battling since then!

Now I have become self employed and have managed to turn my life around in many ways in the last year, but my debts are still a constant worry.

I have roughly £200 a month (and rising) free to cover my debts and hopefully have some chance of eventually having a credit rating (although I expect mine is now damaged beyond repair)

I am a stage now where despite writing to the lenders and asking for reduced repayments, the debts are with collection agencies and if I leave it any longer, I would not be surprised if they try to take me to court, so I would like to take action and make a start on paying my debts. I know it is too little, too late but this is the situation I am in.

Liabilities are as follows -

Lloyds TSB -£903.67 (Administered by Apex Credit Management)
Graduate overdraft removed with little warning, £50 per month repayments agreed, but still hassled by LTSB collections debt, few days late with one payment and passed to DCA.

Capital One - £566.76 (FTC Debt Management)
Halifax CC -£2141 (Albion Collections)
MBNA - Circa £2200 (with DCA but cant remember who)

Halifax - £540 (I have disputed this as basically I was overdrawn by around £30 for around two weeks, I paid them around £180 (original money overdrawn + fees, but on the next billing cycle they added more fees, ignored my appeal against the additional fees, and have now passed onto moorcroft).