Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    Ransoman
    Have i just been scammed?
    • 16th Jul 10, 11:25 AM
    Have i just been scammed? 16th Jul 10 at 11:25 AM
    hello all, long time lurker, first time poster. Not sure if this is the right section but just had a weird phone call:

I work as a systems analyst in a small IT department. I am used to dodging sales calls but i had a weird one just now from a company called Millenium Computers. It went like this:

MillC: hello andrew, Andy from millenium computers here, we tried to get hold of you last week at 5:30 but you had already gone home, we must have just missed you.

Me: yeh, i am out of here at 5 sharp, don't like working late

MillC: The reason i am calling is we have just won a sponsorship deal for (something, i can't remember, might be the world cup???) We are sending out some free football shirts, are you into football?

Me: no, don't like football

MillC: what sports are you into?

Me: i like tennis, wimbledon etc.

MillC: we might have some tennis shirts left i can send you then, please take a note of this security code.

Me: ##writes down code##

then he starts telling me about a printer survey that i don't remember taking about the printers we use on site, i answer a couple of questions about model numbers etc and he starts talking about a product they do, a very high capacity 40'000 page toner and steel bearing'd drum. we talk printers a minute or so more and suddenly: