Clarity on Tax whist bankrupt

Options
Hi, just looking for a bit of clarity on what to do tax-wise whilst bankrupt.
I was a sole trader (VAT registered also) before BR (September), and I'm continuing to trade during BR.

1) 2016-17 Income Tax...End of Jan is coming up, so I understand I have to file that. The amount, whatever it turns out to be, I assume just gets dealt with via the OR. Is this correct?

2) Current earnings - what happens here? I'll have April 2017 - BR date (September) to account for for the next declaration, then what about now until April 2018? Then...what about April 2018 to discharge, Sep 2018?

3) I keep hearing about zero tax, but not sure how this works as self employed. Am I still supposed to be allowing for tax in my income calculations - if so, how do you do that as you go, as it will be a bit of a guess, do you just work out a stock 20% or try and work out more accurately after the threshold etc - which in the end, with me and my wife both self employed, and pretty much meeting the 'allowance' between us, isn't likely to amount to much above that personal allowance threshold. Is there an opportunity for saving here? If indeed this is what I should be doing...

4) VAT. I've not had any communication about this at all from HMRC etc, I went online to cancel it just in case, which it let me do, though didn't receive any confirmation (also noted my address details were the OR office, so I guess I wouldn't). I'm not charging for VAT, haven't received a new VAT number to do so, nor do I want one, so just billing without it, and not putting in any VAT returns. Is this right, is there anything else I need to to or should be doing?