Pay off which debt first?

Options
rustie
rustie Posts: 55 Forumite
Hi guys - some advice please...
I have an Abbey loan with approx 6,900 left to pay - paying 240 per month - interest set when loan started - 6.5% which is added to the total - so would I save by paying this off first or not? Settlement amount is not much less than outstanding amount...
Also have credit card with approx 8000 on - interest free as I managed to transfer to Egg on aniversary date...thankyou Martin!! paying 174 per month on this one.
Anyhow - I have just received some cash and want to pay off debts first but am not sure which one would be best to pay off...? Cant do both unfortunately...
Any advice would be most welcome.
Rustie

Comments

• StratApproach
    Options
    Hi,

Excellent to see you go thinking about spending.

I'm no expert and not able to provide professional advice (so the information is only what I would do)... considering, I had to deal with this situation. (the experts.... and there are some really good ones on this forum will be able to help more, and correct me too.)

A few factors to look at:
    Need to know how long you have left at 0% on the card(presuming its not for life? - if so, what a result).

From this you could work out an amount you could pay off as a lump sum now, then leaving a balance that finishes just up to the date of going back to a higher interest.

Regarding the loan.
    The penalty charge on paying off the loan early - how is it calculated? X number of months, or percentage of balance etc.

As the interest has been taken into account I think it would really come down to affordability of the repayments.ie the monthly commitment you are making on the payments. I presume that paying off early thoug, would help with a recalcuation on the settlement - unfair otherwise.

If there is not benefit in paying the loan in full, part or over the term. Its the affordability of 240 against 174 per month and how ong you want repayment to last.