Debts vs pension

Options
I need some financial advice, on behalf of my partner, so that I can try to convince him to pay off his debt. Sorry if this turns into a bit of a rant.

My boyfriend graduated and got his first job August 2012. He graduated with the standard student debt but also a £2k overdraft.
Since day one I've been encouraging him to pay his overdraft off. He earns a good wage, and I foresee a future together, we've discussed saving for a house deposit together but I cannot shake the feeling that if we manage to save, say, £10k, the first £2k is going to have to get swallowed up into his overdraft. I graduated recently (got first proper job last april), so I'm clearing my own overdraft. I don't proclaim to be amazingly well off, but I know I'm trying and I've already paid off a significant portion of my debt, despite earning less than him and working 2 years less.

The argument we keep having is that every few months, I ask him how he's doing on his overdraft, and he's done nothing. He says "it's OK I'm investing elsewhere" but as much as I see it being a good idea to invest elsewhere, he's still living day to day in his OD.
Last night we had a massive row, as he's recently got a pay rise, and instead of using that pay rise to pay off his OD, he's decided to increase his pension contribution by an extra £350 per month. An EXTRA £350, all the money he gained through his pay rise is going into his pension.