Advice on eplainingunemployment

Options
Hi,

A week ago today, what had been brought to my attention 12 hours earlier by an ex-collegue, was confirmed by my manager; namely, he hadn't paid my tax and NI since May 2016. It's a small company, only 4 employees and the manager is also the director.

I was quite dumbfounded. I contacted HMRC who are looking into the details and also the manager to say I wasn't returning. There's no way I could stay knowing this.

Hopefully what I can find here is advice on how to communicate this episode on my CV, cover letters and, hopefully, interviews.

The work was in publishing and I was a designer, also just turned 50, so there is a reasonable chance that the gap to the next job could grow quite quickly.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Comments

• Comms69
    Comms69 Posts: 14,229 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I don't understand why you left?

With that in mind, you either have a gap of 19 months, or you find a way to explain to a future employer? - atleast with your line of work, you could attempt self employment.
  • ohreally
    ohreally Posts: 7,525 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    There's no way I could stay knowing this.

Why?

You would still be earning and the tax/ nic's will be addressed now they're on the HMRC radar.
    Don’t be a can’t, be a can.
  • Takeaway_Addict
    Options
    Hi,

A week ago today, what had been brought to my attention 12 hours earlier by an ex-collegue, was confirmed by my manager; namely, he hadn't paid my tax and NI since May 2016. It's a small company, only 4 employees and the manager is also the director.

I was quite dumbfounded. I contacted HMRC who are looking into the details and also the manager to say I wasn't returning. There's no way I could stay knowing this.

Hopefully what I can find here is advice on how to communicate this episode on my CV, cover letters and, hopefully, interviews.