Increased debt cost with Debt collectors

Options
Hi guys,
I'm a complete newbie to this so I'm not even sure if this is the correct place to post.
I have had three debts since 2011 which I took out when I was very young. They are split between three different cards. I haven't been in the position to pay them off, however I'm fortunate to be in a much better situation now, and have completely paid one account off.

My query is the two debts left come to a rough total of £8k split between £5k and £3K. It has been a long time since I took these out and being young when I first took this out I was ignorant to not properly file documentation and get my affairs in order etc.

I'm pretty sure my credit file wasnt good enough to rack up debts that much, so I'm wondering if previous debt agencies have hiked huge fees on to these accounts.
What I would like to know is:
1-How can I find out my last balance which was owed to the original credit card company (Would I simply be able to call them up? I have no account numbers etc)
2-If this is the case do I have to pay these fees, can I contest them and am I obliged to pay these extra fees?

Any advise or tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• StopIt
    StopIt Posts: 1,470 Forumite
    Options
    1: Isn't realistically relevant, will make no odds to what the DCA wants. Their charges are legal, have been challenged and lost at courts repeatedly. However, when sending any statements to you, they should have at least a breakdown of costs.

2: See above, no, but also, no.

Firstly, send CCA requests for all of the cards you still owe to the relevant DCA companies responsible for them. The CCA template is on the National Debtline website.