additional hours

Options
I am a software developer. A few weeks ago I asked a question about working overtime. I have a work laptop at home and I regularly work additional hours. I enjoy what I do and I can sometimes literally spend all day on a Saturday and sometimes sunday working. I also work evenings occasionally.

I am under a lot of pressure at work and there is a lot to do. It has been like this for six years.

I was thinking about asking for an additional payment, maybe a bonus for the extra work. I am the only developer. If the work was not done then I would be in trouble.

Does anyone else have experience asking for a bonus like this and were you successful? I am a member of a trade union but don't think they can help but not sure.

Comments

• stevemLS
    stevemLS Posts: 1,067 Forumite
    Options
    I regularly do the same.

However, as far as I know, unless your employer authorises the overtime or specifically asks you to do it, you are not entitled to any payment for it.

That doesn't stop you asking for a bonus, you may not get it though.
  • w00519772
    w00519772 Posts: 1,297 Forumite
    Options
    stevemLS wrote: »
    I regularly do the same.

However, as far as I know, unless your employer authorises the overtime or specifically asks you to do it, you are not entitled to any payment for it.

That doesn't stop you asking for a bonus, you may not get it though.

What do you do for a living? How many additional hours do you work per week on average?
  • asajj
    asajj Posts: 5,123 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options
    Overtime pay will be stated on your contract but bonus is something else.
    Do you have an annual bonus scheme? If it is a large company, it is unlikely that they will give you a bonus in the middle of the year just because you do overtime.

However sometimes smaller companies will hand additional payments to employees as a thank you.