Allowed to advertise my own competition?

Options
Hello compers. I'm a postgrad student doing a research project where I'm looking to see if it's possible to tell if people are drunk from the way they are using their mobile phone. The idea is that in future your phone could know that you're drunk and be able to warn you not to drunk text your ex (amongst other things!).

I've built an app which I need volunteers to download and keep installed on their phone for about 4 weeks. The study ends on 5th August so people need to sign up by about 2nd July. The app gathers some data from your phone (GPS and other sensor readings) and asks users to respond to a really quick survey once every few days. The survey is about whether they had any alcohol during a certain time period.

The reason I'm asking here is because there will be a prize draw for two people to each win a £20 Amazon voucher at the end of the study so I'm hoping people here might be willing to take part?

I know the prize isn't huge and it's not your typical competition, but I just wanted to check if it's ok to post it here given that it's something I'm running myself and it's not so much a competition as it is research.

If it's ok and not against the rules then I'll make a post with all the details on the main board. Thanks!

Comments

• mansey
    mansey Posts: 4,584 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Self promotion isn't allowed.

Someone will come along with the rule :)
    “I'd rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints.” - Billy Joel
    C2W........718/1000......FB...........526/1000
    IG...........667/1000......MD..........652/1000
    2020 January Challenge
    Simply Media 423/1000
    Winning Moments 85/1000
  • jd87
    jd87 Posts: 2,345 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Oh darn. That's disappointing. It's so hard to get volunteers and I'm not allowed to have only my family and friends.