PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Advice for a nervous cook, can I re-heat chicken pie?

Options
Hi guys,

I hope you don't mind me posting, I'm a really nervous cook which gets in the way of me using leftovers, I always think I'm going to give us all food poisoning!

One of my biggest hangups is using leftover chicken.

On Wednesday I cooked a whole chicken, but wanted to be a bit more frugal and make it stretch, so yesterday I picked the remaining meat off of the bones and made a pie (my first one ever) I wasn't brave enough to keep the bones for stock, but maybe next time :o

It was really yummy but too big for the two of us, so we have half of it left, my question is, would it be safe to eat today? Could I re-heat it and if so, how long would I heat it for?

I really appreciate any feedback, me getting over my fears would go a long way to making our grocery budget stretch way further.
£10 per day challenge July 2016 £122.07/310

Comments

• elsien
    elsien Posts: 32,761 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I think the rule is to only reheat cooked chicken once, which you did when you made the pie.
    So it should be fine to eat cold, but not to reheat for a second time.
    All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

Pedant alert - it's could have, not could of.
  • Blackbeard_of_Perranporth
    Options
    The roast chicken on Sunday is normally my chicken curry made on the stove on a Monday, reheated on Wednesday and then on Thursday. It does not get into the fridge! I have done this for a few years now will no effects.
  • tiger_eyes
    tiger_eyes Posts: 1,006 Forumite