Help with early retirement

Good morning, folks,

My name is Nick and I am a 32 old living in small town Iowa married father of 3 young kids (5,2,6months). I work as a Development Director for a local charity. I am trying to do some advance planning for retirement :) but I need some advice and guidance as I am getting a little worried (yes I know I'm still young).

The bad -
I only make 45k a year and my wife stays at home.
My charity is very small and does not provide 401k or any retirement options
We cannot seem to save any money due to our tight budget
Money that could be saved from tax return is spent zeroing out

The good
I have 49k in a 401k plan existing from a former employer.
I owe 59k on my home with 12 (of 15) years remaining on a loan of 3.25% (The home was recently accessed at 86k).
We have no car payments or loans
We have no student loan debts
We have no other debt (other than stated above with the off and on credit card).
Our credit is excellent

At this point as stated above I am having a hard time saving any money and am getting nervous about my lack of money coming into retirement. Are there some tips that I should be looking at.

Thanks a ton!

Comments

• Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,160 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    This site is UK based and so people here may not have much knowledge of US taxes, pensions etc. However a general strategy should be pretty universal.......

1) Keep track of all expenditure so you know where the money is going. If its not necessary stop it!

2) Put together a year by year forward plan using say a spreadsheet making assumptions on income increase, inflation, savings, investment return, life expectancy etc

3) The plan should tell you when or perhaps more likely at the moment if you can retire. Assume post retirement expenditure the same as pre-retirement expenditure possibly minus the things that would no longer be relevant.