Can an employer withhold holiday money?

Options
Morning all,

After a bit of help regarding holiday pay rules/laws.

I am a bus driver and last Thursday i called in sick because I had suspected food poisoning. I was throwing up and feeling light headed, which is what I told my depot.

I called in later that day to say i would be back to work the next day only to be told by my manager that I couldn't return to work unless I had a form from my Dr. He said suffering from dizzy spells was a reportable illness to the DVLA. Now, I never reported as having dizzy spells, merely that i was feeling light headed. To me, they are two different things.

Anyway, so now i have to get a note from my Dr, which i've been told by my surgery the Dr's don't do before i can return to work.

The problem is (apart from not knowing if i can get that form) is our manager has said that people who report sick to work before going on annual leave will not get paid their holiday pay until they provide the depot with a dr's note.

I called in sick on the Thursday and then had Friday and Saturday to work before two weeks leave started on the Sunday. Despite telling the depot i was fit to work the friday/saturday, they wouldn't allow me to because of the above.

So my question is, can my employer legally not pay me my holiday money until i get this note from the Dr?

Sorry it's a bit drawn out. I hope you get my drift...

Comments

• marliepanda
    marliepanda Posts: 7,186 Forumite
    Options
    Light headed to me would imply dizzy spells, but I'm not a doctor nor a medical expert. However not sure how else I would describe as light headed

Anyway, did you not try and get an appt on the Friday? (Or Saturday, some gps near me have a sat service)

The issue is people try to extend their holidays with a bit of 'sick' and those people make managers suspicious when people are sick before holidays. Add to that an illness which makes it 'impossibleto return without a doctors note...