Four employer / contract related questions

Options
I work in IT and since signing my original contract with my employer 8 years ago my team and I have passed through three further employers as part of TUPE outsourcing agreements.

I am curious to see my employment contract so I raised a request with our HR department to access it. They called my boss to flag up that I'd asked this, and he called me very soon after asking me WHY I needed to see my employment contract.

Then it transpires they don't have it on file and have to write to my original employer 8 years ago to ask if they have a copy.

My questions are:

1) Are employers legally obliged to keep a copy of your employment contract?
2) Was that bad practice/bad disclosure from HR to alert my boss to the fact that I made a request to see my contract? I could have been needing to see it due to a grievance with my boss and assuming the request was going to be handled with discretion (I wasn't, but still).
3) TUPE only protects you on the day of transfer. I've been passed through four employers in total since that original contract was written, when I do get to see it, is it as good as useless now anyway?
4) If yes, why doesn't my current employer hold a copy of the 'live' updated version of the contract? (Which leads back to question 1, is that legal?).

Comments

• getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    Options
    DaFlump wrote: »
    I work in IT and since signing my original contract with my employer 8 years ago my team and I have passed through three further employers as part of TUPE outsourcing agreements.

I am curious to see my employment contract so I raised a request with our HR department to access it. They called my boss to flag up that I'd asked this, and he called me very soon after asking me WHY I needed to see my employment contract.