NOW PENSIONS -worried about this provider

Options
Hi all

I was automatically enrolled into NOW PENSIONS through my employer 's workplace pension.
I have been making additional voluntary contributions (5%) for the last 18 months or so.
I now see that NOW PENSIONS have been getting a lot of bad press recently and historically. I am very concerned by some of the things I have read (i.e. various problems with communication , payouts, moving , etc) and now contemplating whether to at least stop making these additional contributions.

What do you guys think?

Comments

• AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    I think you should make those additional contributions somewhere even if not in NOW.
    (Unless your employer is matching some or all of that 5% in which case stick with it)
  • Malthusian
    Malthusian Posts: 10,956 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Is getting the money paid out or transferred an imminent concern for you?

You should certainly continue the contributions if the employer is matching them.

Assuming they're not: I wouldn't put money in Now Pensions. It's designed to be a cheap solution for signing employees up to en masse, and if you had a free choice you wouldn't choose them. The same as if you were deciding where to go out for a meal, you wouldn't eat in a factory canteen. However, if you are working in the factory, the canteen usually does a perfectly good job of giving you your lunch. Having your auto-enrolment pension with NOW Pensions and your 5% extra with ANOther Pensions may be more trouble than it is worth, and the other option is to wait until you leave your employer and transfer the whole lot to a better provider in one go.
  • Microhead
    Microhead Posts: 52 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    There is no imminent concern.
    My employer only pays in the statutory minimum.