Should we remortgage??

Just wondering what everyone thinks we should do? Sorry this is so long...

At the moment we have a 63k mortgage with bristol and west. We self certified and are now paying 6.75% as I was a PhD student with no proof of income and my husband had just left uni and so was on a low income. The house we bought cost 70k and we did extensive work on it.

We have just had the house valued and it is now worth 115k. We have a lot of student debts (21K) which we are really struggling to keep up with the repayments on. I am currently not working as have had a baby and would ideally like to not work for the time being. Husband now has a better job and we have been looking at 2 remortgage options in order to clear the debt and reduce the payments.

Option 1 was remortage with Bristol & West. Max offer was 84k so exactly what we needed BUT we will still have to self cert so interest rate will still be 6.75% Also total fees equal £500. We have a redemption penalty of 5% (3K) so cannot get out of self cert option until 2007.

Option 2 is remortgage with Natwest (our bank so will give us 86k). Interest rate fixed for 2 years at 5.15%. Massive reduction in monthly payments from the Bristol and West option, can add the 3k redemption penalty to the loan and no fees. Plus no redemption penalty after 2 years.

Total outgoings (mortgage and making min payments on debts) at the mo is £950 a month

Bristol and West remortgage £575

Natwest remortgage £475

What should we do? I am so tempted to just start again with the Natwest mortgage and write off the debts and 3k penalty although I know its money down the drain. I just keep thinking that at 24 we are still in a good position with a 86k mortgage on a house worth 115k.

Thanks if you've made it this far!!!
Charlie

Comments

• Joe_Bloggs
    Joe_Bloggs Posts: 4,535 Forumite