Mortgage renewal now I am a student

Options
Hi All,
I hope someone can help me I feel quite uneasy about my mortgage situation.
I bought a house myself nearly two years ago it was 70K and I put down a 7k deposit, so I have a mortgage with TSB for the remainder.
When I took out the mortgage I was working full time in an office and I was salaried on 16k. Now, shortly after I bought the house I was offered a scholarship to undertake a PhD study full time. This was something I had hoped for but never actually expected to happen. So, my problem is now my mortgage is up for renewal in June and I do not actually have any 'income' as my scholarship is a tax-free bursary of 14k (so I get about the same as I used to monthly). What is also problematic is that it is a fixed term scholarship that will cease next August, following which I will of course find work and continue mortgage payments.

Now I am scared that if I ignore the renewal I will automatically be transferred to a not-so-great mortgage rate that I possibly will not be able to afford? Or if I go into TSB and talk to them about this they will refuse me a renewal and I literally don't know what to do otherwise.. Other banks I'm sure will not touch my situation, and I I so scared I will be forced to sell the house to pay back the bank.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated,
Thank you, Nat

Comments

• Edi81
    Edi81 Posts: 1,444 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    When you say !!!8220;renewal!!!8221; you mean your fixed rate is ending.

You have a mortgage and the worst that can happen is that you will revert to SVR.

You will be able to switch to a new fixed rate with TSB which as long as you do it online and this will not require any further checks or questions on your income.

If you log into your mortgage account you should be able to see the rates you can switch to n
  • Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite