Student Council Tax /Bailiff problem

Options
Hi, I was wondering if anyone can help with my situation,

On the 6th March, I paid Equita Bailiffs £43.50 to prevent them calling at my property and seizing my goods after receiving a letter from them stating if I didn't pay my council tax they would proceed with seizing of my goods. I was told this was the minimum amount required by Equita to give me a 1 month period in which to obtain a council tax exemption form from the University of Southampton proving that I was a full time student and was therefore exempt from any council tax.

Within the 1-month period I obtained the relevant form and sent it off to Southampton City Council, who subsequently sent me a certificate of exemption.

At the time of paying £43.50 to Equita, I was told that once I had proved I was exempt from tax I could ring back and would get a full refund of £43.50. I rang a couple of days ago and was told to email them a copy of my exemption certificate and their refunds team would sort it out.

Today I received a letter from them saying they wouldn't give me a refund due to 'the subsequent costs incurred as a result of the recovery actions taken' and the fact that 'the liability order was considered outstanding'.

I feel wrongly treated as I was given the impression that the £43.50 was simply a refundable holding fee which would give me 30 extra days to prove I was a student. The person I originally spoke to said that I was effectively paying the smallest instalment of council tax possible and once I'd proved I was exempt, I could claim it back. I haven't actually paid money to Southampton City Council however, only to their affiliates, Equita Ltd.

As I'm a student, I don't really have a spare £43.50 to lose!! Someone please help?!!?

Henry.

Comments

• Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    In all honesty I have no idea why you paid them in the first place :confused:
  • Hairybuffalokiller