Can boyfriends ex take money from my wage as child matinence?

Options
Hello.

I'm really confused at the moment. Boyfriend currently works, but is getting made redundant.

He will be able to claim contributions based job seekers for 6 months, by then our baby will have been born and he is becoming a stay at home dad.

I work in a school as a teaching assistant, very low wage, don't even come out with £1000 a month. He is going to look for part time work, but finding one around my hours is going to prove difficult when we have stepson every weekend and his ex won't change that! So if he worked weekends, we wouldn't see stepson. That's another issue altogether.

Anyways, stepsons mum has said I will have to pay child matience out of my wage. I said no way! I have no legal duty towards stepson. And if the government say boyfriend is only entitled to 6 months benefits, he's going to have no wage.

I only get 6 weeks at 90% pay, we struggle enough so I can't take anymore maternity and I will be retuning to work after these 6 weeks. Boyfriend will be looking after baby. He can't claim income support because I work too many hours.

Anyways, legally, can the child matience count my wage and will I be made to pay for stepson out of my wage??

i have no legal duty towards stepson, how could they possibly take my wage?

Apparently stepsons mum has looked into this and it's possible. Not sure if she's just saying that to make me pay, but it doesn't seem right to me..

Thanks

Comments

• swingaloo
    swingaloo Posts: 2,749 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Not sure how its worked out now but wouldn't it be better, if you are on a low wage for your boyfriend to find a job even if part time so you can work around the childcare.