We’d like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum.

This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are – or become – political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

📨 Have you signed up to the Forum's new Email Digest yet? Get a selection of trending threads sent straight to your inbox daily, weekly or monthly!

UK DIGITAL MEDIA Anybody use them?

ballyblack
ballyblack Posts: 5,184 Forumite
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
edited 19 May 2012 at 2:21PM in N. Ireland
This company appears to be selling very,very cheap electrical goods on the internet?

UK DIGITAL MEDIA

http://ukdigital.net/

They have a mailing address in Belfast & Cyprus

92 Victoria Street
Belfast, Northern Ireland
BT1 3JZ United Kingdom

Cyprus Office: 6 Vasilis Vryonides Street
Limassol 3095
Cyprus

LOOKS LIKE A SCAM!!!

Comments

  • jellynose
    jellynose Posts: 475 Forumite
    Is that not the address for Law Society of Northern Ireland
    Jellynose
  • DohRayMi
    DohRayMi Posts: 59 Forumite
    Just had a quick look, seems very dodgy to me.
    Cheap site, poor English, no obvious telephone number and a quick search brings up some problems with those 2 adddresses (I think the Law Society is next door).
    Beware, no actually, run a mile.
  • redped
    redped Posts: 814 Forumite
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Name Dropper
    It's a scam - there was another company mentioned on the Tech forum a month or two ago that had the same address; that website was closed down after a few days.

    The scammers have obviously found a few plausible addresses, and use them again and again on their dodgy websites; create a website, rip off some people for a few days (until the site is taken down); wait a month or two and repeat the process.
  • ballyblack
    ballyblack Posts: 5,184 Forumite
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    Thanks all, 'I smelt a rat also'

    Prices were suspiciously cheap, no Vat

    Wouldn't take a credit card etc. so no redress when goods don't arrive
  • Milko
    Milko Posts: 658 Forumite
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Combo Breaker
    Beware of all of these companies / sites (even some of the legit ones).
    If it seems too good to be true it most probably is. If it seems like a very good bargain ... look more into it before committing.
    I recently got caught with a large "reputable" electrical company "We are Electricals" who have since aquired a massive negative reputation on the net. Eventually after a small claims court case i got my money back (£800+ just over 6 months later).
    There's no doubt there are savings to be made out there (as someone who sells AV gear I know that only too well) but don't assume that everyone is making a fortune because some scammers advertise unrealistic prices on matching goods.
    Just my 2 pence worth :)
  • If it sounds too good to be true.................it probably is!
  • They are now called SIMPLY ELECTRICALS with the same contact details.(Belfast, Canada and Cyprus)
    Incredibly low prices on electric goods It's a dodgy site avoid.
  • yorkie98
    yorkie98 Posts: 306 Forumite
    I would be willing to wager that there is one of these "mailbox" companies at this address. Law society is at 90 Victoria Street.
This discussion has been closed.
Meet your Ambassadors

🚀 Getting Started

Hi new member!

Our Getting Started Guide will help you get the most out of the Forum

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 354.8K Banking & Borrowing
  • 254.5K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 455.6K Spending & Discounts
  • 247.6K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 604.6K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 178.6K Life & Family
  • 262.2K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 16.1K Discuss & Feedback
  • 37.7K Read-Only Boards

Is this how you want to be seen?

We see you are using a default avatar. It takes only a few seconds to pick a picture.