PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Pudding rice for risotto?????

Options
I'm making a mushroom risotto tonight (it's my first one - wish me luck!!) however, i couldn't get hold of risotto rice. However, when i was sorting out my cupboards i stumbled across a bag of pudding rice, which looks remarkably similar to risotto rice. Is it secretly the same thing :shhh: :confused:

If that's a big no no, then i also have white long grain rice and brown basmati rice - which would you use?

Many thanks - your advice is always appreciated

Comments

• CannyAnnie_3
    Options
    It will work OK, providing you don't mind it being really gummy. I used to use it sometimes when I was a student because it was cheaper then long grain.
  • Sazbo
    Sazbo Posts: 4,617 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Photogenic
    Options
    I'm making a mushroom risotto tonight (it's my first one - wish me luck!!) however, i couldn't get hold of risotto rice. However, when i was sorting out my cupboards i stumbled across a bag of pudding rice, which looks remarkably similar to risotto rice. Is it secretly the same thing :shhh: :confused:

If that's a big no no, then i also have white long grain rice and brown basmati rice - which would you use?

Many thanks - your advice is always appreciated

I would have thought they're much the same thing? Because they're both short-grain, rather than long-grain, which is what you want for risotto. HTH
    4 May 2010 <3
  • Fivenations
    Options