Point me in the right direction

I have read here something about a "feed people for £12 a week" thread
Cant find it allthough I have made a search.
I usually spend 350/month for 2 adults and 2 children. I need to cut this cost down alot.
I have read Black Saturns mealplaner and the store cupboard challenge which gave me some good ideas.
I am new to the old style board and are trying to find my way around but I don't really know where to start. How do I budget my food.

Also can someone here answer this question. How can I make more than one meal out of a chicken if it should't be reheated (or is it ok to reheat chicken?)?

I am a terrible cook, I'm brought up on ready meals and I most of the time feed my family on ready meals (or frozen burgers and fishfingers:) ). I need to start from scratch. Any help is welcome

Comments

• wigginsmum
    wigginsmum Posts: 4,150 Forumite
    Personally I cut up any cooked chicken that's left and make it into a curry or stirfry. If I have leftovers from a roast, I chop and freeze in bags, and do the same, making sure that the final meal is properly cooked right through.

For starters, you could go through and list everything in your store cupboards. I'm planning to do this and not shop again except for bread and milk and a bit of fruit and veg till the end of the month.

We've found for meat that buying in bulk from Costco and freezing is the way to go - it's so much cheaper and the quality is great.

Try making a list of items you buy in a week, check the cost on say Sainsburys online, compare with a cheaper place like Lidl or a local market, and work out there where you can make some savings. A spreadsheet is a big help for this - I worked out I could save 40% on a weekly shop by going to Lidl instead of Sainsburys.

Start simple - shepherd's pies, bolognese, that kind of thing. And don't forget to have fun! If you can read a recipe, you can cook.